Monday, April 27, 2009

Tiptree Award Winners

This year the Tiptree judges (chair Gavin J. Grant, K. Tempest Bradford, Leslie Howle, Roz Kaveney, and Catherynne M. Valente) tied -- or deadlocked, or something -- in any case, they decided the award would go to two books instead of one this year. (The award web site quotes Grant and Bradford praising the Ness book, and Howle and Valente similarly exuberant about the Shawl, if that means anything.)

Those books are:
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Walker)
  • Filter House by Nisi Shawl (Aqueduct)
The Tiptree judges additionally listed thirteen other things they liked somewhat, though not enough to give an award to. (Their process still strikes me as backward, and their "shortlist" too long, but it's not my award -- and I suppose this process minimized hurt feelings.)

The actual awards will be given at the upcoming WisCon and include $1000, "artwork" created by someone unspecified based on the winning work, and an unspecified quantity of chocolate of unspecified quality. (I mention the latter only because the SFnal world has seen near-duels over questions of particular chocolate brands.)

[via Locus]

No comments:

Post a Comment