Sunday, November 18, 2012

2012 World Fantasy Award Winners

The World Fantasy Convention is held every year on the weekend closest to Halloween, and the World Fantasy Awards are given out then -- so most folks who have any pretensions to providing genre news have announced those winners some time ago.

But things have been busy in these parts (and the other parts where I happened to be) over the past couple of weeks, so I missed posting these when they were brand new. But, luckily, the good thing about excellent stories is that they're still as excellent a couple of weeks later.

So, with my congratulations to the winners and nominees (and my thanks to the judges, who have a hard but wonderful job), these were the winners of the 2012 World Fantasy Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:
Alan Garner
George R.R. Martin

Novel: Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Novella: ”A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong,” K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)

Short Story: ”The Paper Menagerie,” Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)

Anthology: The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)

Collection: The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon/Subterranean Press)

Artist: John Coulthart

Special Award Professional: Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books

Special Award Non-Professional: Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press

(via SFWA)

No comments:

Post a Comment