Tuesday, January 01, 2013

2012 Van Vogt Award Nominees

I was not aware that there was an award named after the man who invented the fix-up, but Locus says that one exists, and has been sponsored by three parties: Winnipeg Science Fiction Association; Conadian, the 1994 Worldcon; and Science Fiction Winnipeg. [1] I presume, though the Locus announcement doesn't say, that it's for SFF novels by Canadian authors -- it could be a somewhat different set of criteria (some connection to Winnipeg, for example).

The nominees for the 2012 award are:

  • Alphanauts, Brian J. Clarke (Edge)
  • The Other, Matthew Hughes (Underland)
  • Lady of Mazes, Karl Schroeder (Tor)
Congratulations to the nominees, and a winner will presumably be announced in the fullness of time.

[1] It's a bit odd to see a twenty-year-old Worldcon still running around organizing things, but I suppose that's hard to get out of your blood.


Kevin Standlee said...

ConAdian is the name of the Canadian non-profit corporation that organized the 1994 Worldcon, just like San Francisco Science Fiction Conventions is the name of the non-profit corporation that organized the 1992 and 2002 Worldcons. (And a couple of World Fantasy Conventions, several Westercon including this year's, the next two Nebula Weekends, and sundry other events) Although ConAdian has dispersed all of its reportable surplus of the 1994 Worldcon, it still exists as a non-profit corporation.

Van Vogt is the Local Boy; he's from the Winnipeg area.

Kevin Standlee said...

Argh, 1993 and 2002 Worldcons, I meant.

Andrew Wheeler said...

Kevin: Thanks for the clarification; it's nice to see that running a Worldcon can have positive knock-on effects even years later.

James Davis Nicoll said...

Interestingly, Schroeder is from the same city in Manitoba as van Vogt and while Brandon is the second biggest city in that province, it's the second biggest city in a hilariously underpopulated province. The odds of two randomly selected Canadians both coming from Brandon are something like .0002%.

Sadly, Schroeder was not the one to rule the Sevagram: Brian J. Clarke won, according to File 770.

Post a Comment