Wednesday, January 09, 2013

Van Vogt Award Winner Shocker!

One of my many highly placed spies -- well, my ex-boss, actually, but that makes for a much less exciting story -- has forwarded the thrilling press release about the winner of the 2012 Van Vogt Award, which answers many of the questions I had when I posted the nominees last week:

    114 BROWNING, Winnipeg, MB, R3K 0L8 <> _ <> >
    Postal queries to: 114 Browning, Winnipeg, MB, R3K 0L8
    Monday DEC 31 2012
    Alphanauts by Brian J. Clarke (Edge) has won the the inaugural A.E.    Van
    Vogt Award.
    The award includes a $1200.00 honorarium (The largest in Canadian
    Science Fiction writing) and a certificate.
    The other finalists were Lady of Mazes by Karl Schroeder, (Tor) and    The
    Other by Matthew Hughes (Underland Press).
    The award is sponsored by the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association.
    The Award is for a book that must be a first-edition full length    science
    fiction novel or full-length science fiction short story anthology,  
    written by an author linked to Western Canada by birth or    residency."
    A web site dealing with the award, celebrating A.E.Van Vogt
    contributions to Canadian writing, and Brian J. Clarke's win, will    be
    announced ASAP. It will provide details as how one may enter for the  
    2013 award.  
Congratulations to Mr. Clarke, and to the SF-loving masses of Western Canada.

No comments:

Post a Comment