Friday, September 28, 2007

The Empire Never Ended, Again

GalleyCat reports today that the Library of America will have another volume of Philip K. Dick novels, again selected and edited by Jonathan Lethem, in the near future. This one will have five novels of the '60s and '70s -- possibly among them, GalleyCat guesses, A Maze of Death; Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said, A Scanner Darkly, Galactic Pot-Healer and/or VALIS.

Update, 9/28: Lethem announced the final line-up, and SF Signal published it. The second, title as yet unspecified, PKD LOA collection will contain:
  • Martian Time-Slip
  • Dr. Bloodmoney
  • Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said
  • A Scanner Darkly
  • Now Wait for Last Year
A fine list, but my objections to doing edited selections instead of Collected Works in the LOA still stands. The point of the LOA is to do the complete works, in chronological order, of important writers. There are plenty of other publishers who do other things; it's not as if Dick is out of print. If someone's not important enough for a complete works, he's not important enough for the LOA to begin with.

No comments:

Post a Comment