Saturday, January 12, 2008

Award Roundup

Trying to shake off the lassitude that Tom Lutz's book has given me, with a herculean effort the Hornswoggler lists some recent awards news that has been posted many places already:

Imprimis. Christopher Barzak has won this year's Crawford Fantasy Award, for his debut novel One for Sorrow. The Crawford is given to the writer (not the book), but the writer is chosen because of a notable first fantasy book published in the previous eighteen months. It's administered by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts, from whose website you can find a list of previous winners and a press release about this year's winner. (Those damn frames prevent direct linking to either.)

Secundus. The finalists for this year's Philip K. Dick Award, for "distinguished science fiction published in paperback form in the United States" have been announced; I got the list from Locus:
  • Grey, Jon Armstrong (Night Shade)
  • Undertow, Elizabeth Bear (Bantam Spectra)
  • From the Notebooks of Dr. Brain, Minister Faust (Del Rey)
  • Nova Swing, M. John Harrison (Bantam Spectra)
  • Gradisil, Adam Roberts (Pyr)
  • Ally, Karen Traviss (Eos)
  • Saturn Returns, Sean Williams (Ace)
  • The winner will be announced at this year's Norwescon, in Seattle.

    I've read only one of the Dick-nominated books, and wasn't more than mildly impressed. This of course means nothing. Good luck to everyone, though of course six of the seven will be left broken-hearted and despondent in their loss.

    1 comment:

    Anonymous said...

    You can get the link to frames by right-clicking, picking This Frame, then Bookmark This Frame, and pulling the URL from the bookmark.

    Post a Comment