Sunday, August 06, 2006

World Fantasy Award Nominees

I'm posting a notice here as well as the SFBC Blog out of pure ego-boo: I am one of the WFA judges this year. Well, maybe it's not pure ego-boo; I also think all of these works are worth celebrating and I want to see them get the widest possible recognition. The list is from the official WFA site.


  • Hal Duncan, Vellum (Macmillan; Del Rey)
  • Bret Easton Ellis, Lunar Park (Knopf; Macmillan)
  • Graham Joyce, The Limits of Enchantment (Gollancz; Atria)
  • Patricia A. McKillip, Od Magic (Ace)
  • Haruki Murakami, Kafka on the Shore (Harvill; Knopf)
  • Paul Park, A Princess of Roumania (Tor)


  • Laird Barron, "The Imago Sequence" (Fantasy & Science Fiction, May 2005)
  • Michael Cunningham, "In the Machine" (Specimen Days, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
  • Joe Hill, Voluntary Committal (Subterranean Press)
  • Tanith Lee, "UOUS" (The Fair Folk, Science Fiction Book Club)
  • Kelly Link, "Magic for Beginners" (Magic for Beginners, Small Beer Press; Fantasy & Science Fiction, September 2005)
  • Simon Morden, Another War (Telos Publishing)

Short Fiction:

  • Peter S. Beagle, "Two Hearts" (Fantasy & Science Fiction, Oct/Nov 2005)
  • Joe Hill, "Best New Horror" (Postscripts 3, Spring 2005)
  • Holly Phillips, "The Other Grace" (In the Palace of Repose, Prime Books)
  • Caitli­n R. Kiernan, "La Peau Verte" (To Charles Fort, With Love, Subterranean Press)
  • George Saunders, "CommComm" (The New Yorker, 08/01, 2005)


  • Weird Shadows Over Innsmouth ed. Stephen Jones (Fedogan & Bremer)
  • The Fair Folk ed. Marvin Kaye (Science Fiction Book Club)
  • Polyphony 5 ed. Deborah Layne and Jay Lake (Wheatland Press)
  • Adventure Vol. 1 ed. Chris Roberson (MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Nova Scotia: New Scottish Speculative Fiction ed. Neil Williamson and Andrew J. Wilson (Crescent Books)


  • Joe Hill, 20th Century Ghosts (PS Publishing)
  • Caitli­n R. Kiernan, To Charles Fort, With Love (Subterranean Press)
  • Kelly Link, Magic for Beginners (Small Beer Press)
  • Holly Phillips, In the Palace of Repose (Prime Books)
  • Bruce Holland Rogers, The Keyhole Opera (Wheatland Press)


  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • James Jean
  • Dave McKean
  • Edward Miller (Les Edwards)
  • John Jude Palencar

Special Award: Professional:

  • Susan Allison and Ginjer Buchanan (for Ace Books)
  • Lou Anders (for editing at Pyr)
  • S. T. Joshi & Stefan Dziemanowicz, Editors (for Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia, Greenwood Press)
  • Peter Lavery (for Pan MacMillan UK/Tor UK)
  • Chris Roberson and Allison Baker (for MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Sean Wallace (for Prime Books)

Special Award: Non-Professional:

  • The Friends of Arthur Machen (for Faunus, Machenalia, and The Life of Arthur Machen)
  • Leo Grin (for The Cimmerian)
  • David Howe and Stephen Walker (for Telos Books)
  • Jess Nevins (for The Encyclopedia of Fantastic Victoriana, from MonkeyBrain Books)
  • Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh, and Wayne MacLaurin (for SF Site)
(Let me note in passing that I learned that these had been released by reading Darkecho Blog; I'm going to go check my work e-mail now and see if I should have known ahead of time. Five minutes later: yes, they did e-mail me early yesterday to say the list was being released, and it's my own fault for not keeping up with e-mail.)

No comments:

Post a Comment